evelinruns

A Few Quick Updates

8 Comments

CD July 11th

I’m running!

Yep, I’m still running. Big surprise?! Of course I’m still running. I’ve been slowly increasing my mileage and it feels so good! I’ve had some niggles going on in my hips (they feel tight and weak, but I’m working on it adding more strength and flexibility into the schedule) and that light PF I was experiencing earlier this spring is flaring up every once in a while. It’s been I use KTTape when I can actually get clean enough (see coming info regarding our water situation) to get it to stick to my body. Great news though = since I transitioned into and started running full time in my SKORA’s it’s been getting a LOT better. Yay, once again, for my dear shoes!

 

blog love

Lots of love

My mood has been so good lately! I might be a bit smelly, but my heart have been full of love and appreciation for life, friends, running etc. As if that wasn’t enough I’m honored to be featured on two great blogs lately. Brandon gave me some love on his great website Forks to Feet and Nicole, one of the Cookies on the Run, honored me by having me featured as Runner of the Week on their blog. I’m so honored and proud to be seen on these blogs! Check them out, read their awesome blogs and give them some love?!

 

sunrise on the deck

Husband at work = 100% focus on myself

So my husband started working again July 1st. This was a big change in many way. We’ve been having so much time together as none of us were working December through June! I suddenly spend a lot of time alone at the house/in the area we live. But that’s not the only change.. I’ve lost a few pounds (the ones I put on while having a hard spring emotionally and not being able to run as much as I wanted) and I’ve been getting back to getting some PROPER strength training in. This body is going towards less fluff and more strength = happy and more confident Evelin. Great things! I’ve also changed up my eating since he’s not around. I eat smaller meals, more often. This is something I grew up with and I kind of lost it while moving over here with my husband. He is not used to that, he’s more of an “I eat one or two BIG meals a day and the rest of the time I’ll snack” kind of guy. Needless to say that’s been messing with my diet, but now when I’m getting back to my normal I right away see improvement, not only visual but also in the way I feel – which is more important!

 

Who knew lack of water would be such a big deal?!

We’re still having problems with the water situation in the house. Living off the water grid is not always easy and can cause some problems. Especially if you’re a runner! After over three weeks with NO showers at home, only cold showers in a beach park every other day, we’re back to being able to shower almost daily. At home! The showers last for about 2-3 minutes but hey, that’s way better than no shower at all!

 

Birthday is coming up!

I’m turning 31 in less than a month! This year, the first in my 30’s, have been flying by! I don’t even know how time can pass so quickly?! But it’s been a great year! Now I’m thinking: How will I celebrate this year? Well, I’m not going to even try to drink alcohol. Last year for my 30th birthday husband bought  champagne – I didn’t have a single sip of it! I just don’t like alcohol nowadays. So instead I’m going to set aside some money to feed my running addiction. My wish list is growing and there are definitely things lots of things I really “need” – like more SKORA shoes, Oiselle apparel and some new merino gear. Oh and a handheld water bottle, some more Hüma Gel and… Yeah, the list goes on and on and… You know the deal!

 

Q How is your week? Any fun plans for the weekend? Maybe a race coming up?

8 thoughts on “A Few Quick Updates

  1. Hah, I just stumbled across this. Thanks for the shout out – You deserve mentioning. We gotta keep each other motivated and you do your fair share of dishing out the motivation :) I wasn’t able to get a run in today either. I will definitely be out there kicking up dust tomorrow (that is, unless it rains – then I’ll be running through puddles again).

    • Thank you! I’m still smiling and feeling very honored by your post. I love being able to motivate and inspire others. That’s the BEST feeling!
      I hope you had a great run today, puddles or dust.. :)

  2. Yay! I’m so happy to hear you’re feeling good again. Happy running!

  3. I love your birthday wish list, I hope you get everything on it!

  4. I think I need to curb my enjoyment for alcohol and red wine. I love it at the time but not so much the next day!

    Hopefully they can fix your water up soon. I seriously want some of those skora shoes now every time I read about how much you love yours :)

  5. Thanks for the shout out!! We loved having you on the blog. Hope your 31st year is filled with long runs and happy days.

Leave a Reply

