evelinruns

Running Pop Quiz

3 Comments

I found this little Running Quiz over at Emily’s blog Running for Boston, Emily in her turn found it at Hungryrunnergirl.com. I thought I would do this too, while waiting for the camera to load some photos onto the computer and my friends+husband to get back from the grocery store (and yes, I might be a bit bored).

Before going out to get my 10k PR in December.

Before going out to get my 10k PR in December 2012.

1.  On average how many races do you run a year?

I only started running and racing 2012, but I managed to get 4 races in from mid August to December last year. During this year no races so far, which is a total bummer, but what to do?! I’m hoping to get 5-7 races in before the year ends. Wish me luck!

 

run for boston

Cheap sunglasses, hairpins and hair tie.

2.  Head accessories, things you have to run with:  a hat, a visor, sunglasses, chapstick, sunscreen, head band, ponytail, braids, sweat band?

Always always a hair tie, can’t have my hair blowing around my face. Most of the times some hairpins to keep the bangs from flying around on my forehead. And always sunglasses. I wish I could honestly write sunscreen too, but that’s just not true. I am way to bad at remembering to use sunscreen (yes please, hit me, it’s so freaking stupid!)

 

3.  Where do your workouts come from?  A training plan, a coach, whatever you feel like doing that day or what your training partner is doing that day?

As mentioned recently I have a running coach helping me out with my training since a few months. I love getting the personal training plans and always look forward to see what’s up next! Btw, get in contact with my coach to get to try his coaching service and get your free consultation now.

 

4.  How many miles on average do you put on a pair of shoes?  

I put about 250mi on my old Asics, but have switched to SKORA now. Some SKORA runners have used their shoes >1000mi without problems, trust me when I write I’m very curious to see how far I can make it?!

photo1

5.  Cell phone: do you bring it with you on your run or leave it at home?

I rarely bring my phone with me out running nowadays. There’s little to none cell service here in the area and the phone usually gives me more problems than it has the potential of helping me. I do however carry an iPod shuffle with music sometimes. And of course, the Garmin watch.

 

6.  What was your last running related injury or have you been an injury free runner?

I started the year with what I believe was a stress fracture in 4th metatarsal. Since coming back from that injury I’ve had some problems with PF, but not so much it will keep me from running. Icing, massage and KTTape helps a lot!

 

Run_June2nd_3

7.  Is your current running goal about running a farther distance (adding more mileage) or getting faster or BOTH?!?

First of all my goal is to get back to where I was before my injury. Then.. Yes, I aim att getting both faster and being able to run farther. Look forward to the challenge!

 

8.  Speed work – at the track, on the treadmill, on the roads or never do it?

I’ve never tried running on a treadmill. It’s just me and the roads, for whatever kind of run. So speed work, definitely happens on the paved road!

 

foamroll

9.  Stretching after a run:  hit the ground after a run and get stretching, stretch in the shower, stretch once you get to work/school, skip the stretching?

I stretch and foam roll after every run. On a yoga mat on top of the big Turkish(?) rug in the living room. Sometimes even days when I’m not running, after a little walk or similar. Love/hate my foam roller and firmly believe that it’s making my running better. At least my body seems to like it!

 

dad_run_big

10.  What was your reason(s) for starting to run?

My dad has been running for a bunch of years and I’ve been cheering him on while he’s been running Stockholm Marathon, being that proud daughter who always cries (of course trying to hide it) when he finish his race. I finally started running after seeing my dad getting ready for his training runs before the Jubilee Stockholm Marathon last summer. I was awake, sitting at the kitchen table reading or playing a game on my phone as he was heading out. 2-3 hours later when he came back after his run I was still sitting at the kitchen table, probably having my third cup of coffee.. After a few weeks of this happening I just got an impulse, put my old sneakers on and got a few tips from my dad before I got out and “ran”. Since that day I was hooked and I am so thankful for that inspiration and motivation my dad gave me during last spring, and he keeps on giving me daily.

 

 

Thanks HungryRunngerGirl for a fun Running Pop Quiz! Do you want to join in the fun? Below you’ll find the questions, easy to copy and paste into your blog. Answer away! I look forward to reading your answers!

1.  On average how many races do you run a year?

2.  Head accessories, things you have to run with:  a hat, a visor, sunglasses, chapstick, sunscreen, head band, ponytail, braids, sweat band?

3.  Where do your workouts come from?  A training plan, a coach, whatever you feel like doing that day or what your training partner is doing that day?

4.  How many miles on average do you put on a pair of shoes?

5.  Cell phone: do you bring it with you on your run or leave it at home?

6.  What was your last running related injury or have you been an injury free runner?

7.  Is your current running goal about running a farther distance (adding more mileage) or getting faster or BOTH?!?

8.  Speed work – at the track, on the treadmill, on the roads or never do it?

9.  Stretching after a run:  hit the ground after a run and get stretching, stretch in the shower, stretch once you get to work/school, skip the stretching?

10.  What was your reason(s) for starting to run?

3 thoughts on “Running Pop Quiz

  1. 1. None last year, probably 3 or 4 races this year. Historically less than 3 a year.
    2. Visor. Always. Unless it’s super cold and I’m wearing a toque.
    3. Random places on the internet usually. I read other peoples workouts, and sometimes modify them to fit my style.
    4. Lots! I used to demote them to lawn mowing shoes after 500 miles, but now I run in them until they are worn out. I recently retired a pair that’s probably got 1000+ miles, and am still using another pair that’s around 800.
    5. I bring my phone on longer runs, mostly for my wife’s peace of mind. I never take my phone on my lunch break runs – I don’t want work to interupt me!
    6. I’m not sure what my last injury was, but I’ve had almost every running injury. Have been essentially injury free for the last 18 months or so (changed my form and cross-train now).
    7. Faster. I’ve run a hundred miler, so I have no desire to add more distance. All about getting faster now!
    8. On the roads. I’d like to get to the track, but I have intervals programmed into my Garmin, and so it’s relatively easy to do 400m/800m repeats on any path.
    9. I never stretch. Not before, not after. I used to stretch a lot, and I also used to be injured a lot. Maybe related, maybe not. But I’m not fixing what isn’t broken!
    10. I started running to lose weight. Was not an active person growing up, but my health was dropping and I needed to make a change – so I started running 5 years ago and haven’t looked back!

  2. I’m so glad you re-posted this! :) Isn’t it fun!!

    • Yes! Love these things, they make for a fun way to get to know each other and also an “easy” blogpost idea when time is limited and/or inspiration is low :)
      Thank you for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

