evelinruns

Running Coach? Yes please and You’re Welcome

11 Comments

So I’ve mentioned before that I’ve been working with a running coach lately. To be completely honest, I never thought I’d get a coach but I’m darn happy I did! Here’s my pre getting a coach thoughts vs. post getting a running coach:

Pre: “I’m not a proper runner, why would I need a coach?”

No matter who you are or where you are I’m sure you have at least one goal (or so you should) – to be healthy and happy. I happened to fall in love with running inspired by my dad, and had a pretty good time getting out there doing my runs more and more frequently. I quickly noticed changes for the better both in my mental and physical health, I felt leaner, stronger, faster and happier. And then injury happened.. While I was missing running and going completely insane without my dear running during those months without running, as I slowly started running again something had happened. I was afraid of running, afraid of pushing too hard/too little, out of shape and wanted so badly to just get back for real. At this time Mark contacted me and we started working together. He set up a training plan for me and with that plus his support I found my way back to running unafraid, to pushing without pushing too hard. Just push enough. It turns out was a GREAT decision to work with a coach!

Pre: “I’m in such bad shape it would be embarrassing to have a coach check in on me and look at my running statistics.”

Well, it is really easy to start comparing yourself to others, I’m sure I’m not the only one doing it more or less. But when it comes down to it, running is so relative to each and every one of us and with that realization I started to feel comfortable sharing my splits, distances and thoughts with my coach. He (and pretty much everybody else out there in the running community) is there to help me, not laugh at me behind my back or demand undoable things of me. He sees my performance and give me tools to move forward from where I am at right now.

Pre: “I’ll just google some training plans and workout suggestions instead.”

This works. I know it because I’ve seen it happen. And that’s great! But I find a training plan pulled from internet less motivating and I actually started on one of those before my injury happened, but I just didn’t really like it. Sure, it might have been a too easy and “plain” training plan, but my biggest thing was that I just felt so.. Trapped. The training plan I have now courtesy of Mark is varying from week to week, not just with mileage but also different strides, hill repeats/sprints etc – the things that weren’t mentioned in that training plan I took from google (it might have been a given, just that I didn’t know better?).

Since I got back from my injury in March I’ve gone from being able to only run 2mi at the most without stopping, and that with an average pace of 11-something minutes per mile, to being able to run 5mi with an average pace of 10:10 last Saturday. I know that this might sound slow (I think so myself, because I KNOW I can do better. I have done way better), but this is where I’m at right now, while working my way back to that shape I was in in December/January. My passion for running is stronger than ever (this means it’s ridiculously strong by now) and I’ve found extreme satisfaction in doing the hill repeats on the training plan and so on. I get excited looking at my training plan and I get all itchy knowing that I get to run, almost every day.

I think that most people could become runners. And actually not just runners, but good runners from what they have to work with. A beginner could have huge success getting into shape, losing weight, finding motivation and staying motivated while being supported by a coach instead of struggling to do it all on their own – overdoing it, losing motivation, giving up because it feels too hard (or easy), having a hard time finding the right guidelines when it comes to distance, speed, nutrition and all other things that comes with trying to be healthier and happier. I was lucky enough to fall in love with running right away, but that might not be the case for everyone out there. I know though, that if the desire to change is somewhat present, some help on the way could take you longways.

Training Plan

I’m very thankful for the possibility to have a coach helping me develop as a runner. To become not just faster and stronger as a runner and a person, but to feel more confident in what I’m doing and stay motivated AND have support on the way there! Perfect!

If you are thinking that a coach might be something for you, or if you just want to know more about what a coach could do for you, I’d like to inform you that Mark is giving you the opportunity to try his coaching service free of charge by scheduling a free consultationHead on over to Teach To Run and sign up for a consultation (by phone, email, Skype – whatever suits you) with Mark, where you talk about ways to get you where you want to go! He’s a great, supportive and very motivating person and he knows what he is doing when it comes to running! He can definitely help you get going towards your goals, whatever they might be (getting started with running, weight loss, diet, PR’s, new race distances etc).

Q: Have you ever worked with a running coach? Or have you thought of working with a coach? If not, I say go for it! It takes running to a whole different level (at least it does for me).. 

11 thoughts on “Running Coach? Yes please and You’re Welcome

  1. I haven’t gotten to the point of getting a running coach lol…my wife is just trying to get me to the 1 mile marker first haha…keep rockin those runs!

  2. I just contacted a coach last week to train me for my first ultra. Like you mentioned, it feels good to know that there is someone else helping me along to reach my goal and to rein me in when I get ahead of myself (really, like that never happens! LOL). We haven’t started up yet but I did sign up for my first trail clinic with him to get to know each other and decide whether I should move forward. Good luck and I’m glad you’re back out there doing what you love!

  3. I’ve thought about using a running coach before but then I’ve sort of been in and out with being passionate about running. I know that it would definitely improve my technique and help stop injuries which is another reason I have been not so passionate of late about running.

    • Jan,
      Just curious what kind of injuries have you been dealing with?
      Mark

      • I had a knee injury which was actually caused by an imbalance in my hip strength. I had an injury in my calf from running in bad everyday shoes for a train when my calves were tight. I am generally always really really tight in my ITB’s so when I run regularly I have to do foam rolling, pilates and lots of stretching to try and manage it.

      • Thanks for the reply Jan. Running in bad shoes will definitely do it…I know from experience.
        Please start doing the “Lunge Matrix” daily before runs. You can do it even on days you don’t run. This will strengthen and loosen up your hips. By having strong hips and a strong core this will take the load off areas that can’t handle the pressure…knees, ankles, feet, calves, etc. After you do the “Lunge Matrix” I’d also do some forward and sideways leg swings with each leg to loosen up and warm up those IT Bands. Here is a video of the “Lunge Matrix”: http://teachtorun.com/2013/03/02/how-should-you-warm-up-for-before-you-run/

        I’d also keep getting on that foam roller and start rolling out your IT Bands and quads before and after your runs. This will not feel good but will definitely break up all that scar tissue that is surely in there.

        I am still available for that free consultation if you are interested.

    • I’m sorry you’ve been struggling with injuries and felt not very passionate about it! It’s rough to go through injury and it sure takes hard work to come back.
      I was SO excited to get to start running again after my injury, but realized quickly that I had lost a lot of my stamina etc and had to get myself even MORE motivated to be able to push through and actually get somewhere. It gets to be very challenging when you have to fight SO hard to get back to where you were comfortable before injury – very easy to run out of motivation and give up..
      Working with Mark though helped me get over the hump and start moving forward again, I’m still far from where I was but I have support and guiding on the way there – love it! I definitely recommend getting in touch!

  4. You are the second blogger I’ve seen have really good success with a running coach. I may have to look into this. Great post evelin!

    • Thank you Julie. I’d say have a chat with Mark, it’s worth a go? You’ve got nothing to lose :)
      I really think he’s a great coach! Motivating, supportive and great at listening to your needs/goals and from there finding a way to help you get where you want to go! Good luck!

  5. Pingback: Running Pop Quiz | evelinruns

Leave a Reply

