evelinruns

Last Week of March

11 Comments

As you all know I’m taking it really slow with the running right now and I actually decided to give myself some time “off” last week. Tuesday, while our guests (visiting from Alaska) were slowly waking up, I headed out to do the Virtual Jelly Bean 5k and after that the rest of the week contained of hosting and taking our guests out to see the area we live in. We visited the natural warm spring named Ahalanui, walked down to the beach down the road (trail), hiked on the lava fields around Kalapana and snorkeled in the tide pools over at Kapoho Wai’opae. So even though there wasn’t much of the running action going on I’ve at least stayed a little bit active and definitely enjoyed having our friends coming all the way from Alaska to explore our area with us.

Last Week of March in photos:

The way to "our" beach, a trail through the forest.

The way to “our” beach, a trail through the forest.

I've been eyeing them for MONTHS and finally have my own beautiful Skora's

I’ve been eyeing them for MONTHS and finally have my own beautiful Skora’s

Was far from patient when it came to using the new shoes, so I brought the Base out on a little hike and hangout by the tide pools. Of course, my favorite backpack had to come along too. Kånken by Fjällräven.

Was far from patient when it came to using the new shoes, so I brought the Base out on a little hike and hangout by the tide pools. Of course, my favorite backpack had to come along too. Kånken by Fjällräven.

Kapoho Wai'opae. Perfect easy snorkeling spot and yes.. Sunny!

Kapoho Wai’opae. Perfect easy snorkeling spot and yes.. Sunny!

Sunset on the old lava fields of Kalapana.

Sunset on the old lava fields of Kalapana.

I LOVE the different shapes of the lava. So wild and beautiful!

I LOVE the different shapes of the lava. So wild and beautiful!

Sunday we drove our visitors to Kona Airport and stopped for breakfast and a leg stretch on the way.

Sunday we drove our visitors to Kona Airport and stopped for breakfast and a leg stretch on the way.

As you can see, not much focus on running but our guests sure were entertained and so were we. This island is gorgeous and well worth a visit. Come on over and play with me, ok?! We’ll run some too. I promise!

Q: Have you been to Hawaii? Maybe even the Big Island? If so, what were your favorite spots?

11 thoughts on “Last Week of March

  1. Never been but definitely on my list of places to visit!

  2. Cool pics. I’m from Maui so I’m obviously biased. Are you living there now? We are in Utah and we had a friend who was on Lanai for the “Lanai 5K and Half Marathon” – her picture at the start was funny (http://mainlandkamaainas.wordpress.com/2012/08/22/embarrassing-nah-endearing/).

    Way different than the start line at a race here . . . . kinda makes me want to go back to Lanai and run it. :)

  3. I have never been to the big island but I recently visited Oahu and loved it! Great pics.

    • You should come back to Hawaii and explore the Big Island! :)
      Yes, I’m promoting my new home wanting as many people out there to see the diverse beauty of the island.. ;)

  4. Hawaii is on our vacay list so I’ll let you know if we make it a reality and we can go for a run together! Love the Skoras, especially the white! Have you done a review on them? I’d love to read it! I’ll keep an eye out for it if you haven’t yet.

    • Great, hope you make it over here soon :)
      I’m planning on writing a review of the Skoras as I start to run in them, I’ll let you know when this happens! For now I’m walking around in them (turned into a sneaker girl after they arrived – normally wouldn’t wear sneakers except for when running/working out) a lot and am planning to transition into them soon. I’m thinking I’ll go from my 8mm drop shoes to a 4mm and then slowly transition into running in the wonderful Skoras. I definitely fell in love with them though! They’re really comfortable and I LOVE the look of them, get a lot of compliments too :)
      Oh, maybe you have some tips on transitioning into lower/zero drop?

  5. My wife and I actually met in Hawaii, in Kona. Short of the Honolulu airport, I’ve only been on the Big Island. Love it there!

  6. I’m so jealous of your home!! I have never been to Hawaii, but it’s definitely on my to-do list. I’m hoping to travel a ton after I graduate!

    • You know what? I’m really wanting to go to CO, seems like a little piece of paradise (maybe in a different way than Hawaii, but still!). My Norwegian/Swedish genes have a secret love affair with mountains/snow :)
      There’s so much to see on this planet, I’m sure your post graduation travels will take you to amazing places! What’s on top of your travel-to-list?

Leave a Reply

