evelinruns

Fourth Week of Running Post Injury

5 Comments

March 11th runMonday March 11th, Run #9

5,1k, 32:17 minutes, Average pace 6:26

After Saturday’s terrible run I woke up Monday knowing I was in NEED to get out and run and feel good. So later that afternoon when the temperature started dropping I put on my bright Reebok shirt and headed out for a run. I had no plan on a special distance or speed, I just wanted to feel good. And I did! I kept going and ended up doing my first 5k since when the injury happened January 3rd. I was so so sooo happy when I got back home, but I also realized that the 7 weeks without any serious cardio work have set me back when it comes to my stamina. I know this will come back as I get to run more and further, but man did I notice it during this run?! Oh well, that didn’t matter so much as the fact that I did run 5k! I know, it may seem like nothing for runners and it wouldn’t have been a big deal at all to me before the injury – but now.. It means that my foot can handle a little more than it did three weeks ago and it means that I can add some distance to my runs from now on. Slowly of course!

 

Wednesday March 13th RunWednesday March 13th, Run #10

2.6k, 17:37 minutes. Average Pace 6:46

Spent the whole day thinking about running and how happy it makes me. Attended a FitFluential chat co-hosted by RunWRS and got even more inspired to get out for a run. As I got out I did 1 minute running, 30 seconds rest with increasing pace for each interval. Had FUN and got some real speed into my legs, but also noticed how much more efficient my running has become lately. I don’t know why? But guessing some more strength might be one of the reasons. Anyways, I welcome it with open arms.  As you can see I didn’t go very far, but that’s still OK. I’m easing my way back here (yes, I am reminding myself over and over again)..

 

Run March 16thSaturday March 16th, Run #11

1.85k, 11:44 minutes, Average pace 6:21

Saturday was kind of a miserable day. It should’ve been the day before my first half marathon and.. That obviously didn’t happen. I finally decided that enough is enough and went out for a very short run just to shake off the sadness and disappointment. It worked.

 

 

After Saturday’s total meltdown I decided that that’s it! Now I’m only going to be focusing forward, fighting my way back to normal. Remembering and feeling my love for running and that keeps me smiling.

Total distance: 9.55k

Total time: 1:01:38 

 

 

Q: How was your week? Got any good runs/workouts in?

5 thoughts on “Fourth Week of Running Post Injury

  1. You have some rocking paces girl!! Seriously you are awesome.

    Funny, I am wearing the same pink Pro Compression socks right now! They are so great.

    • Aww, thanks! You are too kind! I’m not where I used to be for speed and am only running short distances so far, but one day soon I’ll be back rocking for real :)
      The socks really are awesome, some days I don’t know what I’d do without them.. Recovery with ProCompression is a breeze, or at least better than without!

  2. Slowly, but surely!!! And you are doing so well to take it all carefully, to continue with all the little things. The rolling, the stretching, strengthening, icing. Don’t you worry about that half marathon. You will have yours and it will be better than you had planned before the injury.
    It won’t be long and your runs will all be over 5k! :) Keep it up!

    Thanks for all the wonderful encouragement these last few weeks. It has meant the world to me :)

  3. You are so cute, I just love your posts!! I am glad you are getting some running in (I just caught up on your last post.) That half marathon WILL happen for you, and when it does it will be so amazing!

  4. Pingback: ProCompression Love and Giveaway | evelinruns

Leave a Reply

