evelinruns

Third Week of Running Post Injury

11 Comments

I can’t believe it’s already been more than three weeks since I got back running after my foot injury?! I haven’t been running a ton, I’m still taking it really slow and during third week I was only going for less than 3 mile runs. It is very frustrating not getting to run MORE, but my foot still doesn’t feel 100% and I’m just not willing to take the risk of being set back again. Running is here to stay. You heard that dear left foot?! OK, let’s keep it this way.

run tue march 5thTuesday March 5th, Run #6

3.19k, 21:23 minutes, Average pace 6:42

Happy run. Just like that.

Run Thursday March 7thThursday March 7th, Run #7

3.42k, 23:25 minutes, Average pace 6:51

Thursday I woke up at 4.30am crying  due to hormonal shit and I just could not go back to sleep, neither could I stop crying. I kept telling myself that it’s ok, I don’t have to freak out, it’s just my body getting used to new “medications” (you women out there probably know how much birth control can affect you?) etc. But finally I decided that the best way I could possibly deal with this is to get out and run. So I did. At 12pm in BRIGHT sun (I don’t know if that was the smartest move, but I needed to run desperately and I’d rather deal with some dehydration than the emotional bullshit). I did some kind of fartlek (oh, I LOVE to get to write a Swedish word every now and then) and went from really slow/walking to speeding the shit out of myself (excuse me for the.. uhm, “rough” words). Great run! Came back home without any foot issues and most importantly I felt SO much better emotional. The rest of the day was pure love thanks to the run. (Yes, that smile on the pic above is totally fake.)

Saturday March 9th, Run #8

Terrible run. Dehydrated before I even started plus zero food until 3pm just wasn’t what my body wanted. This run was a no-go and I quickly decided to just head back home after 1k and don’t push it. Shit happens, but I do need to be responsible enough to EAT and DRINK properly.

 

Total distance: 7.61k

11 thoughts on “Third Week of Running Post Injury

  1. Drink tons of water!!! Especially in Hawaii…sheesh…one of my most miserable runs was in Hawaii because my body wasnt ready for heat or humidity.

    • Dehydration is terrible! I know exactly how it goes when running in heat not being used to it and not hydrating enough.. I learned the hard way to stop and walk back home, instead of pushing through it and spend the rest of the day “talking” to the toilet/shivering/sleeping.
      But yes! I’m drinking better now. Again. Downloaded an app to the phone where I keep track of my water intake and get reminded when I’m slacking.. Goal is 72oz/day and it seems to be a reasonable amount :)

  2. Yay for running pain free! I can’t wait until I’m out there too! Birth control is the devil, except for the one that I’m currently on. Every other one has made me psycho except Yaz. You gotta love all the fun stuff we women get to deal with ;) Look at you all speedy like by the way!

    • Yes, I’m sending tons of healing energy your way as I really feel for you being injured. You’ll be back at it soon!
      I had been using IUD for 10 years and as I can’t deal with the costs of taking them out/putting them in now when I’m living in the US and currently have no insurance (they estimated the cost to $2000?!) I had to try something else. I got the Depo-Provera shot as I’m terrible with remembering to take the pills but this is definitely not worth it. I don’t recognize myself (or rather, I do recognize my former depressed self which is even worse) and CAN NOT wait until these 3 months have passed and I can get out of the nightmare! Maybe I’ll go for the pills anyways after this?!
      Yeah, the things we have to deal with simply because we’re women.. I’m still waiting for birth control methods for men, but will it ever happen?!

      Speedy? Me? I guess I have the speed in me on shorter runs like those, but as soon as I go further it decreases.. Some speed work will have to happen in the future :)

  3. 1) is that a FlipBelt?! I LOVE mine!!
    2) how do you like that Garmin? I’m in the market for one and am always creeping on peoples’ wrists.
    3) ugh, birth control and I are in a fight right now– I had an IUD inserted yesterday and am still getting used to it!

    • 1) Yes, that is a FlipBelt and I LOVE it too. Such a great product and I’m so happy I found it and didn’t have to give into the whole “fanny pack” deal.. :)
      2) I like the watch! The things I’m not crazy about is the size of it and that it takes forever (or at least it feels like it) for it to find the satellites before I start running.. If you’re not looking for the Heart Rate monitor I’d say go for a Garmin Forerunner 10 or maybe look into the Polar watches (I’ve heard a bunch of people loving them). But yes, Haha.. I am actually happy with my choice anyways! :)
      3) I hear you! I had IUD for 10 years and was actually loving it (I had the hormone one). But because of my odd body I can’t afford to keep using them (I need to be put under to take it out/set a new one in and that was estimated to cost $2000… Needless to say I DO miss my home country Sweden sometimes?!). I hope you’ll be happy with the IUD, I’ll continue my fight and search for the best possible option for myself… Ahhh!!
      Thanks for stopping by!

      • I’ve been looking at the Forerunner 10, too! I like hearing “real” reviews of them from people, thanks for being honest! I’ve heard loves of love for Polar but haven’t researched them nearly enough– I mostly want it for GPS and I think Polar is just a heart rate? (But I have no clue.)

        ooh I would have love to be knocked out for mine!! I just got back from a follow-up and they had to give me some prescription pain-killers because I am still feeling crappy. I am lucky to have great insurance, but I would definitely love to be somewhere with universal healthcare!

  4. Yay for running again! Can’t wait too! And yeah, I know all about birth control drama… Stay strong.

    • How’s the foam rolling going? I found the rolling being very helpful with all kinds of leg aches and doing it regularly helps my running.. Hope your knee is up and running (pun intended) very soon!

      I’m hanging in here.. Just hating my husband a little bit (I guess not totally justified, but I do it anyways) for not being able to take the burden off of me and go on some kind of birth control himself.. :)

  5. “… speeding the shit out of myself.” Love it! I might have to steal that phrase sometime!

    • Haha, might be a Swedish thing to say.. Sometimes I just translate what I would’ve said in Swedish into English..

      But yes, please use the phrase! I personally think it’s a good one :)

Leave a Reply

