evelinruns

Half Marathon Training is Off

11 Comments

As you might have read a few times by now, I’ve been off running for a while due to a foot injury. It’s been tough not being able to run for over three weeks now, but I know that I’m doing myself and my body a favor. The foot is much better, although it seems like I’m still a little ways away from actually getting back to running. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to go for an easy run/walk Monday morning, but as I woke up with pain today I really don’t know if it’s time to start pushing it or not.

I only just started my Half Marathon Training Program before this foot injury happened and now, as time pass by, I’m pretty sure there will be no Half done in March. I’m afraid of getting back to running and because of the time limit push too hard and only make it worse in the long run. So, as for now (if I’m not getting back to running this coming week and it feels GREAT) Half training is OFF.

It sure feels like a TOTAL bummer, I was looking forward to that Half so much, but I know that there’s a bunch of other races I can do. Shorter ones during the spring AND other Half Marathons in the summer. There’s the Kona Half Marathon and the Rain Forest Runs 13.1 (the race in which I ran my very first race) in August.

I will get through this injury and I’m aiming at doing it smart (even though my body and mind most of the times tells me to “PUSH IT, RUN, NOW”) to make sure running and I will stay happily in love for a long long time.

11 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training is Off

  1. It’s so hard to take it easy when you have goal races, but it sounds like you’re taking the best approach to it. Remembering that we (hopefully) have a life of running ahead of us makes it a bit easier :)

    • Yes! That is my main thing right now; the smarter I am about getting back to running the bigger the chance is that I can actually enjoy running for a looong time (hopefully the rest of my life?!), and there will be a Half or many ahead of me once I’m through this. I KNOW it, I can do it :)
      Thanks for support Jen!

  2. Running is one of those things where a person who LOVES what they are doing enough, will not do it for a while so that it can be done WELL. It is STILL hard to do though, and no one can say anything to make it easier.
    Take it day by day and see how it goes.
    Sounds like you have a lot of wonderful race options in front of you!

    • I do LOVE running, and that’s the reason I’m really working hard to be “smart”. Not to push to hard and get back to running before I’m actually ready. The gift of and my love for running is way to important to me to jeopardize being able to run in the future. And also, I want my first Half to be a good one. I want to have a good feeling in my body and start the race knowing that I can give all I have in the race. So, a later race it will be :)
      Thank you so much for your words and support Raina!

  3. I know exactly how you feel. I’ve been in the same position where I have been signed up for a half but due to one circumstance or another, I couldn’t race it! But at the end of the day it’s important to listen to your body, let it heal itself, and run a different half! There’s loads of them, don’t worry about missing one :) Good luck with the run on Monday!

    • It is really frustrating and I can’t wait to finish my first half, but I really want to be able to do it under good circumstances, with a good feeling in my body (at least from the start), so it will have to wait. Like you say, it’s so important to listen to the body and not push too hard, so that’s what I’m trying to do.
      Thank you girl!

  4. I feel the same as you. I had signed up for a half marathon course, injured myself and now here I sit running a little at a time with my half marathon date of Feb. 24th looming. I’ll still do it but the thought of a PR is out the window. And if I have to bow out in the middle of it, then so be it. It’s hard when plans don’t work out but at the same time it’s good to know that we are listening to our bodies and giving them the rest that they need. And like you said, there are many other races out there! Best wishes!

    • I’m sorry to hear your plans got interrupted by injury too, and I hope you’ll be able to finish yours even if it’s not going to be the race you had originally planned. I think I would have done mine too, walking or however, if it wasn’t for the fact that it’s my first half and I REALLY want to be able to feel good and run it.. But yes, there are other races to do and life definitely doesn’t end with a foot injury – which is great! (even though life dosen’t feel as great when running is out of the question.. :)
      I’m sending healing vibes your way and look forward to hearing about your coming races!

  5. Smart decision an it is good to see that you are not only at peace with it but are embracing it for being the wise choice. It’s not easy and can be disappointing but use these emotion to drive you when you do get back to training and think about them when you cross that finish line! Heal quick and strong.

  6. Pingback: How Am I Doing with My 2013 Goals? | evelinruns

  7. Pingback: Fourth Week of Running Post Injury | evelinruns

Leave a Reply

