evelinruns

Still no running for me..

6 Comments

I know that some of you already have seen me whining on twitter, but here comes the blogpost. I have officially been off running for more than two weeks and it’s really getting to me. My left foot is still causing me a lot of pain just walking and it seems like nothing helps. I’ve been icing it, painkillers, anti-inflammatory pills and wrapping it with Ace bandage.. Monday morning I woke up and thought that my foot was good, so I actually headed out for a walk/run to test it out. Unfortunately it was really miserable – the pain was bad enough for me to have to turn around after 1,5k… And getting back to the house I cried. And then I worked out (no leg action, but a lot of core) with my foot iced.

my workout room

This injury is really starting to get to me. Both body and soul are shutting down more and more, I just NEED to run. Soon. It’s really mentally exhausting having to worry about the foot and just longing to get out and run, do MY THING. The joy of my life (OK, one of them). Just writing this I want to cry.

I worry about my planned Half Marathon in March. If that’s going to happen I definitely need to get back to running ASAP, otherwise I won’t be able to do the 13.1.

 

But on a more positive note.. Husband and I are moved into the new house now. We’re getting settled and I’m still getting used to all the space we have.. Talk about luxury problem?! The climate here is also very different – with the cool jungle comes more humidity, frogs, insects and plants. All this is of course not a bad thing, it’s just very different. Once I get back to running (because I WILL) I’ll try to remember to get some pictures from my runs. The surroundings here are… Almost magical.

garden

6 thoughts on “Still no running for me..

  1. I am sorry you are not able to run right now. :( It is a real test!
    Your new place sounds beautiful! I wonder which island you are on? I have been to Kona, but spent one day going around and realized all the lushness was on the Hilo side :) Hope you love the new tropical landscape! It is gorgeous.

    • You’re so right, it’s a real test! But with people like you around on twitter and here it’s easier for me to get through it AND stay sane.. So thank you very much for your support! :)

      We live on the Big Island. Moved from a tiny little house close to South Point (maybe you went there when you were exploring the rest of the island?), halfway in between Kona and Hilo and now we’re SE from Hilo close to the ocean. Totally different really! And yes, there’s a tropical lushness and a beautiful landscape here :) I’m liking it, and probably will be in love with the place as soon as I get to run around the area here..

      What did you think of Kona? :) Let me know if you’re coming back so we can go for a run?!

  2. Aw, I’m sorry to hear you still can’t run. I know how being unable to run can mess with us runners… On the plus side, your new place looks gorgeous! Love those big windows!

  3. I know how it can get to a person mentally, not just physically when you can’t do something that is such a part of you. I finally got back out there for a run yesterday and while my foot (the left one too ironically) wasn’t 100% I have faith that things will get back to normal. I hope that yours improves over the course of the week so that you can get back to doing what you love so much.
    Beautiful scenery by the way and looking forward to seeing more pictures of your surroundings!

  4. Take it easy…try low impact workouts like the mat work and swimming is a powerful healer if you have access to a pool (maybe the ocean). Make sure to work your mileage up slowly or you may risk being back at square one! Hawaii is amazing, envious. Heal quickly!

  5. Not to be a bummer here, however have you seen a podiatrist? Depending on where and how your foot hurts it can be many different thing from overuse, new shoes, a strained tendon or a slightly torn tendon. I really suggest seeing a podiatrist and making sure nothing is torn, plus they can give you exercises to do to help the healing. Perhaps in lieu of running the roads you can water run? That will allow you to run without any impact on your foot while it heals.
    I hope you heal quickly and well.

Leave a Reply

