evelinruns

“Survive The End Of The World 10K” Race Recap and BondiBand Giveaway Winners

10 Comments

Today was the day of my third race ever. I’ll tell you all (I can remember) about it. Here goes:

tired girl

The “End of the World 10K” race started in Kona at 7am. We do not live in Kona, so we had approximitaly 1 1/2 hour of driving to get there. Therefore, alarm set for 3.45am Let me tell you neither my husband or I was stoked about getting up that early to get in the car and get going. It was dark, cold and I was grumpy. OK, we both were. But off we went and the drive was dark and felt long..

dark drive

A lot of music and not too much talking took us into Kona. After a stop at Starbucks (coffee for C, restroom visit for me) we headed down to Ali’i Drive and the spot where I thought the race would start. Getting there we realized that I was wrong and we started driving around looking for the start… We finally found it at about 6.15 and as we parked and I suddenly realized that the course for the 10K would be COMPLETELY different than what I had in mind I had a meltdown in the car. With thoughts like “I can’t run hills”, “There’s only a few people running the race, I’m going to finish LAST (if I even finish)” spinning in my head I decided not to do the race.. Then I remembered all the awesome runner tweeps on Twitter who are doing their races, beating their nerves and getting out there racing and also cheering ME on as I go further on my running journey and realized that I had to do this race. Husband agreed and reminded me of how disappointed I would be with myself if I backed out of doing the race last minute. So, I laced my shoes on and walked down to the start and registered.

registration

After registering and getting my race number I was so nervous and had to run to the restrooms a couple of times and try to focus on.. Whatever else than running, really. During these 45 minutes waiting for the start I actually let my husband get a photo of me. Amazing! Can’t say that I was stoked, I pretty much just wanted to run away (hide in the water or just run back into Kona downtown to hide from the whole race thing. I can’t be the only one starting to compare myself to other runners gathering up to do a race? I see all these super fit and totally calm people around me and I can’t help but feeling like I’m not a “real runner” (what IS a “real runner”, really?!)..

nervous

Suddenly all that time had passed and it was time to line up for the start. During my meltdown in the car I had come to realize that I forgot my armband for the iPhone at home (of course I found this a reason to back out and head back home without doing the race during the meltdown) so I tried to set my iPhone up for a ride in my bra (no, it didn’t work very well..) and I started listening to music before the start to space everything else out. Obviously I look totally lost while doing so:

start

And I was off. Totally planned to go slow (about a 6-6.30 min/k pace) for the first 3k and thought I’d manage to do so when I found a spot behind two ladies just after the start. But… As the first hill arose they slowed down and I had to pass. I still kept my pace down pretty good I’d say, and when the first downhill came I was relieved. I thought that I’d get some flat or at least semi flat running after that downhill.. But NO, it ended up being a dead end, so back up the hill we went. And than some more incline and some more, and than a decline (which I right away realized would be another turnaround again meeting other runners as I enjoyed speeding down the hill). And this was the course. UP, DOWN, UP, DOWN etc. Pretty much the whole way!

Screen Shot 2012-12-22 at 3.09.32 PM

After about 3k my phone would not stay in my bra anymore and started sliding down my back. I decided to rearrange and tied my shorts on tighter and thought the phone would stay put in the lining but… After a little bit I had the phone jumping around inside my shorts… Not great as you might understand. I tried putting it back in the front of my bra, not working. At last I decided to just hold it in my hand (I don’t like having my hands occupied while running, but I made it work) for the rest of the race.

[Anyways, I hung in there and had fun running. Felt strong and confident and with 2,8k left I realized that I had one downhill left and I had a shot at a PR (sub 1:02:00) and I went for it. As always, looking back I think I could’ve pushed it a little bit longer and faster but I did finish with a PR. 58:23 was the official time and could not be happier!

finish

Photo from Waverider Triathlon Club

After the race I enjoyed some fruit and sports drink and then I got my Starbucks coffee (I’d been looking forward to that cup of coffee from the moment I woke up..) and breakfast on the way back home. I had a great day and I’m so happy my meltdown didn’t have me back down and chicken out!

#97

And now something completely different..

I had a giveaway with two BondiBands earlier. After the giveaway finished I used random.org to pick the winners and here they are:

BondiBand Winner 1

Alex

BondiBand Winner 2

Stacie (skippinginseattle.wordpress.com)

Email me your address (email: evelinruns at gmail.com) and I’ll get the hairbands in the mail ASAP. Hope you’ll enjoy them and keep on running happy!

Thank you for entering the giveaway. Please come back for more, I have a few giveaways to host in the near future.

10 thoughts on ““Survive The End Of The World 10K” Race Recap and BondiBand Giveaway Winners

  1. That’s a hardcore course profile!!! Awesome PR!!! It will be scary to see what happens when you get on a flat course!!! (Scary good I mean) Congrats!!

    • Thank you! I definitely didn’t think I’d do so well on that course, and to be honest I didn’t even know how hilly it would be until I was out there, running the hills.. It was fun and I’m proud!
      I will try to find a flat 10K to do in the future and see what the finish time will be, but first a few 5K’s and focus on my first Half (hopefully in March) :)

  2. At the risk of sounding stalkerish, I just wanted to tell you that you are gorgeous! Congrats on a great race! Those hills look killer but you did it!

  3. Pingback: Tell me about your 2012 « evelinruns

  4. Congrats on the race! I appreciate you and your husband coming out and supporting our club. You are definitely a survivor after all those hills. It goes to prove you are capable of more than you think you are. See ya next year? Thanks again!

    • Kristin,
      Thank YOU for organizing the race. I had so much fun and am really proud of being able to call myself a survivor :) I’ll definitely be back and you’ll probably be seeing me around on other running events on the Big Island too! Happy New Year!

  5. Pingback: 12 Things In 2012 « evelinruns

  6. Pingback: Are You Running with Music? | evelinruns

Leave a Reply

