evelinruns

The day before

Leave a comment

So it’s Friday Aug 17th and I’m a total nerv wreck. Tomorrow is the day I’ve been looking forward to for two months and suddenly I’m freaking scared to death. What was I thinking in June when I decided to run a 10K race?! My first race ever, only 3 months after I first started running. And 10K.. I mean, that is quite a long ways to run huh?

When I started with my <3K runs in May I really did not think that I’d be running more than 10K. Ever. The way my heart was pumping after 3K I thought that “if I ever run longer that this, I’m sure going to die”. But in early June I beat my first 5K run and after that I realized that I actually had it in me. My legs could actually carry me further..

So tomorrow is my big day and I’ve been cruising the net to get an idea on how to get through this. How to prepare and what to expect. I think I’ve been doing all I can, but still I don’t really trust that I can do it. Have I been running enough? Or too much? Have I been eating right? Drinking enough? Will my feet blister? I don’t know.

But what I know is that I will get up at 4.45AM tomorrow, and I’ll get in the car and go to Volcano. I will get my start number and I will try to do this. I will run until my legs can’t carry me anymore, and if that isn’t enough I will go home, reload and try it again on another race.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

